Gt Harwood St John's CE Primary

Skip to main content
10th April 20
Trail : home / School Governors

Just like every school, we have a group of volunteers who form our Governing Body. We have several kinds of governors determined by how they are elected to their role.

Foundation Governors are appointed by the Parish and Diocese.

Parent Governors are elected by our parents.

Staff Governors, (this includes the Head and a teacher), are either elected, or in the case of the Head, given a place due to their post.

Local Authority Governors are nominated by, in our case, Lancashire County Council.

Governors meet each term to discuss matters affecting the school.  They meet as both small committees, which oversee the buildings, finance, staffing and curriculum and as a full body.

Currently, our Governing Body is made up of the following people:


Foundation Governors:

Mrs Julie Molineux

Mrs Linda Holden

Mr Mohammd Shazad

Mrs Heather Wearden

Mrs Louise Howorth



Local Authority - Mr Ian Holden 

Parent Governor:

Mr Carl Morris (Chair)

Mrs Kelly Pemberton


Church Governor 

Graham Birch 


Staff Governors: Miss Tracey Parker and  Miss Debbie Newton   

 Observer - Mr Rob Brearley